Followed by McCutchen

Andrew McCutchen

Andrew McCutchen

I can’t shake Andrew McCutchen.

It seems like every time I turn on the TV or open up my RSS reader, there’s Andrew McCutchen – front and center.

Which is actually fine by me.

Regarding pure talent on the field, it’s hard for me to name a player in the division who I enjoy watching play the game more than McCutchen.

At the risk of turning into one of those “get off my lawn!” types, I appreciate the way he goes about his job.  I don’t see him taking it easy at any point during the game.

He’s focused.  Locked in.

And when I see him interviewed or read something that he’s written or spoken about, I come away ever more impressed.

I still can’t believe he signed a long-term contract to remain with the Bucs.

I don’t mean that in an incredulous way.  More so I mean that I’m highly impressed that he was willing to take “enough” money to stay with the team that drafted him, developed him and believes in him rather than eyeing the big pay day with a larger market franchise down the road.

And honestly, if you’ve ever been to PNC Park, why would you want to play anywhere else?  It’s a gorgeous field.

The thought of bringing a championship back to the Steel City for the first time since 1979 seems pretty exciting as well.

It should be an interesting season in Pittsburgh.  They’re considered by many to be the favorites to win the NL Central.

Like McCutchen, I’ll have my eye on them throughout the season.

Leave a Reply

